Stool Documentation

I decided to focus primarily on efficiency, and structure, with my stool design. While there was also an emphasis on aesthetics, the primary focus was on how the stool was constructed. For me, this project was all about trial and error. When I initially began doing research, I intended on adapting a design I found on instructables, but quickly realized that folding the trapezoidal structure which made up the base of the stool was far more difficult than I thought, and while I do believe it would have been possible, I could not personally get it to work. My second design was made up of interlocking, stacked, pieces of cardboard that sort of “fanned” out in a spiral, and was secured by the seat. However, what I found with this iteration was that while structurally it was sound, it did not measure up aesthetically. From there I did more research, and eventually decided to base my design off of a stool I found through a website called “chairigami” that was being sold for $75. Deciding to adapt this design for my stool was birthed from the shock that this group is able to sell cardboard furniture for $75+. As an art student, there have been many times over the years where I have seen something and will think to myself, “I could do that, and I can make it better” and this design was no different. Using images from the website, overall measurements that they included, and the general knowledge I have for construction I was able to create a stool that was structurally sound, and used less material than the one online. I think that there were definitely improvements that could have been made, and that aesthetically it would have been better had we been able to use machine intervention, but overall this was a fun challenge for me, that in the end was successful. Something that this project made me think about was what we have most recently talked about in class- the question of can architects be socially responsible?- I think there is something to be said about sites like instructables, which provide information to the masses, versus sites like chairigami which provide a product. Personally, I think it’s more effective to provide the tools necessary to reach the largest number of people, because it will make the greatest impact, rather than create a product with which one can profit. However, I understand that people need to be able to generate an income, and like socially responsible architects, you run into the issue of not being able to work for the greater good, because the greater good does not have the necessary payout.

Leave a comment